1 visitors on this page

books brochures clubs classifieds chapman dealers home
disclaimer downloads genealogy links manuals modelcars menu
news newsletter press press F1 proActive racing sitemap
specialists video more search   Facebook contact

Lotus Racing - championships

Formula one


Worldchampion in year: Driver:
1963 Jim Clark
Demonstrating a strong superiority, Clark won seven times giving no chance to others drivers. Lotus 25 were, in his hands, reliable and quicker than any other opponent, including his team-mate T.Taylor.
1965 Jim Clark
Jim Clark seemed to be unstoppable. He won six of seven races.
1968 Graham Hill
Jim Clark died after an accident in a F.2 race at Hockenhein. In F1, the Cosworth engine dominium was absolut: 11 victories in 12 rounds! Hill with Lotus 49 took his second title.
1970 Jochen Rindt
Jochen Rindt became champion after his death when his team-mate, Emerson Fittipaldi, won the USA GP
1972 Emmerson Fittipaldi
The youngest ever world champion with only 25 years old
1973 Jackie Stewart
As a result of Cevert´s accident Stewart decided to retire, but he had broken Clark´s record of 25 victories, achieving his 27th at Germany GP in August.
1978 Mario Andretti
The big change in this year was the appearance of the Lotus 79 at Belgium; the team made its first one-two of the year. This car was the first "wing car", with side-skirts and dominated the rest of the season. Andretti took six victories, with his team mate, Peterson, in second four times.